Team History

Pioneer Robotics was founded in 2017 to give students a chance to further their skills in engineering, programming, design, and thinking. In its brief two-year history, the team has already been in back-to-back state finals, earning its first State Championship last year when Pioneer Robotics advanced to the World Championships in Detroit. Out of the 7,000 existing First Tech Challenge (FTC) teams, Pioneer Robotics placed 1st in autonomous programming and 20th overall. Along with our world ranking, Pioneer Robotics has been recognized as a top tier team with 2 Inspire Awards (given to the team that best embodies the FTC program), a Collins Aerospace Innovate Award (unique robot design), and a Connect Award (given to the team that most connects with their local science, technology, engineering and math community).


Seungjae Baik

Our mission

The primary goal of Pioneer Robotics is to provide members with the opportunity to learn many aspects of robot design, construction, programming, and competition experience from mentors and experienced FTC members. We seek to instill FIRST’s ideal of gracious professionalism, which encourages best engineering practice through collaborative competition, serving the community through outreach activities and inspiring younger students to get excited about STEM fields. In addition, FIRST provides a platform for Saint John's students to practice the Xaverian virtues of simplicity, zeal, compassion, humility,and trust.  By competing in FTC Robotics, students practice the skills necessary to participate in emerging technologies. 



  • 2018 Inspire Award Winner

  • 2019 State Champion

  • 2019 20th In The World 

  • 2019 Inspire Award winner 

  • 2019 1st in autonomous programming

  • 2019 Collins Aerospace Innovate Award

  • 2019 Connect Award 

  • 2020 Think Award

  • 2020 Inspire Award Winner